常见问题解答

到达前的信息


14岁以下的儿童可以独自前往温哥华吗?
可以,但家长或监护人需要通知航空公司,无人陪伴的未成年人在往返温哥华的行程时需要有人监督。航空公司将安排服务员帮助孩子过海关和登机。安排这项服务时,航空公司还需要了解Kingswood代表将在温哥华国际机场接机。航空公司将双向收取无成人陪同的未成年人服务费,并在抵达温哥华前支付。
谁负责在温哥华国际机场迎接学生?
Kingswood代表将在飞机抵达时等候。他们将穿着官方Kingswood T恤,手举一个大的Kingswood标牌。学生将直接护送至不列颠哥伦比亚大学,在那里办理登记手续并与辅导员见面。
家长如何知道他们的孩子已安全抵达?
Kingswood将在抵达当天通过电子邮件与家长确认他们的孩子已安全抵达。必须在航班信息表上填写接收确认邮件的邮箱。
学生如何安全保障财物和贵重物品的安全?
建议学生不要携带不必要的贵重物品,比如昂贵的手表或珠宝。但是,Kingswood办公室上锁的保险箱可供学生保留贵重物品(如有需要)。这些贵重物品只能在固定时间每周使用几次。我们会定期提醒学生随时锁好宿舍门。在学生上课期间,Kingswood对丢失或被盗的物品概不负责。
学生应该带多少钱?
每周带50- 75加元就足够了。建议带上额外的紧急现金。 Kingswood建议学生以保险的旅行支票方式携带大额资金,只带少量现金。学生可以在指定的时间可以兑现旅行支票,办理入住手续时可以选择提取部分现金,以便学校安全保管。
谁负责保管学生的机票和护照?
抵达后,学生应将他们的机票和护照交给Kingswood的办公室工作人员,或者给留在住所的随行陪护人员。如果这些文件未在抵达时提交,则这些文件的丢失或错放将由学生和家长负责。

安全和联系


在课程期间,家长如何与孩子联系?
家长可以在家长数据库上在线留言或致电Kingswood办公室。工作人员将在课程休息期间向学生传达信息。
学生如何打电话回家?
学生休息室有提供电话,校园里也有付费电话。可从Kingwood购买长途电话卡,费用为6加元。辅导员将帮助学生在空闲时间打电话回家,大多是远足回来后的傍晚时分。
如果亲戚朋友想要探望和/或带学生离开校园怎么办?
如果需要授权朋友或亲戚探望并带学生到校外进行个人活动,家长或监护人需要填写家长同意书,并提前通知学生离开。学生需要在离开和返回时需通知Kingswood办公室。
如果学生生病或受伤了怎么办?
Kingswood为所有学生购买了医疗保险。在出现疾病、事故、受伤或紧急情况下,Kingswood工作人员将陪同学生接受治疗。所有课程地点附近都有医院。
我的孩子可以携带手机去营地吗?
可以。在抵达时将会收集所有移动电话并安全保管,手机只允许联系家人。

住宿和生活


宿舍安全状况如何?
只有授权人员和学生才能获得宿舍的钥匙。学生所分配的辅导员会与学生住在同一宿舍区。此外,宿舍管理员在紧急情况下会在晚上和周末值班,并协助处理其他问题。保安人员晚上在大学校园巡逻。
学生可以选择他们的宿舍类型吗?
宿舍安排取决于诸多因素,包括性别、年龄组别和混合国籍。此外,辅导员需要在学生小组附近设立一个房间。因此,学生将无法提出选择或分配房间的请求;Kingswood无法满足这些要求。
学生在哪里吃饭,在哪里可以买到食物?
学生可以在Kingswood自助餐厅(寄宿学生除外)吃三餐,每日还有夜间小吃。部分户外活动将提供外带午餐或晚餐。酒店还提供烧烤和特别晚餐,作为课程行程的一部分。用餐时间以外的小吃可以在商店、餐馆和自动售货机购买。每个课程的住宿地点附近都有这些设施。在没有辅导员监督的情况下,学生不得前往这些地点。
学生怎么洗衣服?
辅导员会提供宿舍洗衣机所需的洗衣卡。 我们会为学生提供洗衣粉,并由辅导员协助定期洗衣服。
Kingswood将为学生提供哪些个人生活用品?
Kingswood将为学生提供宿舍的床上用品。 床上用品会定期清洁。 所有学生应自行携带毛巾和洗浴用品。 如果物品丢失或遗忘,辅导员可以帮助学生在校外活动时购买。

您对我们的课程是否有任何疑问?

简体中文

Pre-Arrival Information


Children travelling alone to Vancouver
Children under 14 are permitted to travel alone to Vancouver provided that special arrangements have been made in advance with the airline. Parents or guardians of children travelling alone will need to make arrangements with the airline for their child to be supervised during travel to and from Vancouver. Most airlines will arrange for attendants to accompany children travelling alone through customs and to help them board their flights. Please note that airlines normally charge an additional fee for Unaccompanied Minor Service. The airline must also be notified in advance that a Kingswood representative will be meeting the child at the Vancouver International Airport (YVR).
Arrival at Vancouver International Airport
Students will be met at the airport arrivals area by a Kingswood representative. Representatives will be easy to identify because they will be wearing Kingswood t-shirts and holding a large Kingswood sign. From the airport, students will travel directly to UBC to check-in and meet their Counsellors.
Email notification of safe arrival
Parents will receive a confirmation email on the day of arrival to let them know that their child has arrived safely. Please ensure your email is written correctly on the Flight Information Form.
Security of student money and valuables
Students are advised to leave all unnecessary valuables at home, including expensive electronic devices, watches or jewellery. The Kingswood office is equipped with a locked safe in which students may keep their valuables, but items stored in the safe can only be accessed at set times. Students are advised to keep their dorm rooms doors locked at all times. Kingswood is not responsible for any items that are lost or stolen while students are participating in our programs.
Student spending money
During the program, $50-$70 CAD per week should be enough spending money for each student. For security, it is recommended that students arrive with only a small amount of cash and that they carry the bulk of their funds as insured traveller’s cheques. Students can store their funds in the school safe.
Student’s return airline tickets and passports.
When they arrive, students should present their tickets and passports to Kingswood office staff for safekeeping. If these items are not placed in the care of the office staff on arrival, loss or replacement of these documents will be the responsibility of students and parents.

Safety and Contacts


Contacting children during the program
If they would like to contact their children, parents may call the Kingswood office or leave messages on the Parent Database. Messages left for students will be delivered to them during program breaks.
Children contacting home
Students will have access to phones in the student lounges as well as to payphones on campus. Long-distance cards are available for purchase at Kingswood for $6 CAD. When they have free time, usually in the evenings or when they have returned from outings, students will be able to call home and their Counselors will be available to assist them.
Off-campus visits with family friends or relatives
Parents or guardians must fill out a Parental Consent Form if they wish to authorize off-campus visits with friends or relatives. Kingswood must be notified in advance that students will be leaving the campus. Students travelling off-campus will be required to check out at the office when they leave and check-in again once they return.
Student illness or injury
Medical insurance coverage is arranged for all students for the duration of their program. In the event of sickness, accident, injury or emergency, a member of the Kingswood staff will accompany the student to receive medical attention. All program sites are located in close proximity to hospitals.
Mobile and cell phones use at camp
Students may bring mobile phones with them to camp. On arrival, all phones will be collected and securely stored. Access will be granted when students would like to talk to their families.

Accommodations & Living


Dormitory security
Authorized personnel and students are the only people with access to dormitory keys. Students are assigned to a Counselor and all Counselors stay in the same dormitory area as the students in their group. In the evenings and on weekends, a Dormitory Manager is also on duty in case of emergencies and to assist with other issues. University security guards patrol the UBC grounds at night.
Assignment of dormitory rooms
Assignment of dormitory rooms is based on a number of factors including gender, age category and nationality. In addition, counsellors need to have rooms located close to their student groups. Due to the complex logistics involved in assigning rooms, Kingswood is unable to accommodate student requests for room selection.
Students meals and food purchases
Every day, students (with the exception of Homestay students) will receive three meals, usually from a Kingswood cafeteria; they’ll also be able to enjoy an evening snack. On some outings, students will be provided with packed lunches or dinners. Barbecues and special dinners may also be included as part of the program itinerary. Students may purchase snacks outside of mealtimes at local stores, restaurants and vending machines. Each residence is located close to these types of amenities. Students are only allowed to visit these locations under the supervision of their Counselor.
Towels and toiletries
Students are expected to bring their own towels and toiletries. If any item is lost or forgotten, a Kingswood Counselor can help the student to purchase it during one of the off-campus outings.
Bedding and laundry
Bedding will be provided to students for their dormitory beds and will be cleaned regularly. Counsellors will be available to help students with their laundry and will provide laundry detergent and assistance in operating the machines.

Do you have a question about our programs?

English